Pixie dreams

29 Jul

In university, I was mistaken for a boy by the school registrar when I was paying for my school fees. I couldn’t really blame her: after all, I was wearing shorts, a t-shirt, boots (don’t ask me how I did it in Philippine tropical weather, I hardly know now), and a haircut a la Dolores O’Riordan, circa 1990, of the Cranberries.

It was liberating, daring and flamboyant at the same time. If you know me, you would know that I don’t usually like to focus attention on myself and I’m uncomfortable with the limelight. But this – it just felt right. I kept it for a year and eventually went through the long-hair/ponytail phase. One that lasted more than a decade.

This time, my inspiration comes from Ginnifer Goodwin, who somehow perfected the pixie cut that is not so much rock-and-roll as a real pixie.

pix·ie [pik-see]  noun

1. a fairy or sprite, especially a mischievous one.
2. a small, pert, or mischievous person.

Just like before, I feel a certain liberation in getting such a short haircut. So hard to explain, I guess you’ll just have to try for yourself.

Taken at Sabang, a few minutes from the famous Puerto Princesa Underground River

One Response to “Pixie dreams”

  1. cielo v. capitan November 3, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    that pixie look becomes you!

Leave a Reply

