Leadership

11 Jun

In my last post, I talked a bit about holding my ground. I suppose I was talking somewhat of leadership and what it means to me.

When I was in high school, some students and I went to this leadership retreat about peer counseling. I’ve always led in team projects and/or team collaborations. One of the instructors said (she didn’t mention my name but I had this feeling that she was directing it at me) that true leaders wait to be chosen. They don’t just roll over everybody and start leading.

More than 2 decades later, I’m beginning to think she was so wrong. What I found over time is that waiting is unproductive and most people don’t want to step in and take responsibility. Most people want to take it easy. I did too but not anymore. I want to have an impact more than just taking it easy. I want to matter. This is why I want to take ownership. This is why I will not sit around and wait to be chosen. All I have to do is speak up.

Leave a Reply

