Higher education, part 2

22 Feb

“Do you fear failure or success?” This question from Rivenrod on my post Higher Education gave me pause.

As I said to a friend of mine, not getting into an MBA program will not stop me from being a part of a startup or trying to build a business in the Philippines. I am not angling for a big time job in consulting or executive level strategy management in some Fortune 500 company. So, failure will not be the be-all or end-all of who I am.

The biggest reason why I would like to get in at this point is to save face – I want people to give me credit and know that yes, somebody, in fact an institution vetted me as worthy. But that seems so shallow and in fact it’s also not enough for me to fear.

They say, be careful what you wish for. And I think for me, that’s the crux of it. I’ve been wishing so hard for this and the rewards/consequences sort of frighten me: non-stop work through the weekend, more juggling of responsibilities and work especially if I want to start a family soon, HUGE student loans, not having the time for anything other than school and work.

Further, I’m planning to take an MBA with a focus on sustainability and social impact. Me, who likes fashion (as people know me) but actually secretly loves fashion. Me, who eats meat and has no plans whatsoever to become a vegetarian. Me, who loves to travel and use those carbon-consuming airplanes.

I’m not crazy by the way. The more I learn, the more I become conscious of the following:

– Fashion is most likely the height of consumerism because every season it drives people to consume more. To desire for this one thing that could just complete their wardrobe, except it never ends with 1 thing.

– There is no way that the world consumption of meat could ever be sustainable. Even if you’re not a granola-eating, Birkenstock wearing, tree-hugger, you have to believe this.

So, why did I want to get an MBA again? As I said to the interviewer and as I believe them to be, 3 reasons:

– To gain credibility as I build my company in the Philippines and continue to build my startup in Montreal, Canada; an MBA opens doors

– To have the chance to learn the fundamentals of business within the classroom and among my peers; I’ve learned these on my own so far and on the job

– To build on my network of future business leaders and entrepreneurs.

I’ll have to say Amen to that for now.

3 Responses to “Higher education, part 2”

  1. monica bistrain February 22, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    MIT is my crush school! a scholar’s school! if i hadn’t gone to the other one, it would have been it for me!! but maybe i just would have gone off the techie edge lol. it’s a scholars school. there is truly a joy to learning and it changes ur life in many ways. i am so excited and so rooting for u Leah dear 🙂 !!! xo

    • sussurus February 22, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      I didn’t mean to get you excited, the interview I had was with Hult. Still waiting for the geek school to respond 🙂 I agree with you, totally different from that *other* school in Cambridge…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sheathed « A Whisper - July 26, 2012

    […] years, if not decades before I can realistically afford a designer wardrobe so I suppose, for my MBA business casual wardrobe, I’ll have to stick with this, a local Philippine brand that I […]

Leave a Reply

