Quote

Higher education

17 Feb

Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life. The most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives; some of the most interesting 40 year olds I know still don’t. ~ “Everybody is free to wear sunscreen”

Questioning who you are and what you’re capable of may not be the best things to do while preparing for an MBA admissions interview… in 4 days. But I can’t help it. I feel paralyzed, afraid. It was okay when I was caught in the chaos of applying, studying for the exam. Now, I’m just terrified.

Am I really the leader that I portray myself to be? I am not an innovator, that part I know at least. I’m a worker, the one who gets things done. I have taken leadership but will I continue to do so?

How do people do it? As D’s spouse, I’m currently an observer of a premier MBA program at MIT Sloan and I look around and try to get some pointers. And I wonder, do they wake up everyday saying, “I’m going to kick some a$$ today.” Or do they wake up like I do sometimes, thinking “What the hell am I doing here?”

5 Responses to “Higher education”

  1. Tita February 17, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    You can be a Leader, with or without an MBA. University “helps” but if you don’t have the essence of a Leader, even if you spend all your life in Harvard, you won’t be one.
    Knowledge is important, specially in this part of the world where people gets measure by tittles, but if you don’t invest enough time to apply that knowledge in real life-business, then is going to be just good for yourself.
    I guess is a combination of both, in a right balance?

    It is ok to be terrify! is part of the challenge!! Enjoy this moment 🙂

    And congratulations for the courage!!

  2. Rivenrod February 20, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Do you fear failure or success? Either way simply by acknowledging the challenge is a success.

    Simple, ten deep breaths.

    RR

  3. sussurus February 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Thank you for the words of encouragement, the interview went well (I think…) and I took last weekend to evaluate, evaluate and yes, I took 10 deep breaths 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Higher education, part 2 « A Whisper - February 22, 2012

    […] you fear failure or success?” This question from Rivenrod on my post Higher Education gave me […]

  2. Hey stranger « A Whisper - June 5, 2012

    […] and no MIT in the fall but I’m still going for an MBA at Hult – higher education for 1 […]

Leave a Reply

