Irreverence

19 Jul

After all the seriousness, I thought I’d take a break and post something about my favorite things.

Wedges for women are sort of a joke: elevation without the instability of stilettos but as uncomfortable and painful. Forget about what men would say; they barely understand heels to begin with. Take it from me, women feel an extra something when wearing heels. As if the higher it is, the pointier those stiletto spikes are, the meaner we get which we equate to the fierceness of Angelina Jolie. And the way it affects our walk, imperceptible to you, a man, but it makes the world of difference for women.

So, why am I including this wedge in my list of favorite things. There’s something irreverent about it: pointy, high-heeled, and in zebra print. If I was wearing this, it’s as if I’m not taking myself too seriously. And I want to take a break from taking myself too seriously.

4 Responses to “Irreverence”

  1. missm July 19, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    i tried to look for the bronze ones but cannot find them. they are a bit less scandalous than the piece made of silk is lilac. but they are my faves. and yes i did! i stared for months first.

  2. missm July 19, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    here is the link!! http://www.fashiolista.com/item/562610/

  3. Rivenrod July 20, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Frankly, inspiring.

    How about a list of times/events where wearing stilettos makes you feel empowered. Just a guess but – Job Interview, meeting the other woman in a love triangle . . .

    RR

    • sussurus July 20, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      Probably not a job interview – too in-your-face and women, in general (I’m sure there are those who just won’t give a damn), tend to diminish their female-ness in the work environment. Meeting the other woman? Definitely, no question about it.

      Your question inspired me though. It’s in line for a future post.

Leave a Reply

