Spring and trees

25 May

Spring has arrived in my own backyard.

Let me explain: I live in a building that encloses its own courtyard and by the whim of the angles that affords it some sun, it took awhile to catch up with the rest of the plant life that has been unfurling or fully unfurled in the rest of Montreal.

I have been staring (not fulltime of course, I do have to glance at my computer every once in a while) at naked trees for at least 8 months now. When I walk the streets, I look longingly at other trees, wondering when my view would change. Apparently, while I wasn’t staring, the trees in our courtyard seemed to have blossomed over the weekend while I was sleeping in, running errands and going to the gym.

And today, they turned on the fountains. With the glorious sun in the background, it is a glorious day indeed.

PS. This is what happens when you don’t live in Miami anymore, you learn to appreciate blue skies and not take it for granted. You learn that winter really has the power to rob the soul of happiness – no matter that you are enveloped in love. Just like the trees, I felt naked and vulnerable during the winter, exposed to the elements – prone to sadness and melancholy. I guess the short of it is that I’m just glad it’s springtime.

2 Responses to “Spring and trees”

  1. Tita May 26, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    How lovely is this writing! put a smile on my face 🙂
    Love is in the air!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calling for Spring « A Whisper - February 24, 2012

    […] And to further counteract the fact that the weather here in Boston is terrible, I decided to concentrate on the fact that springtime comes sooner here than in Montreal. […]

Leave a Reply

