{} vs. []

24 Mar

Following the vein of my post yesterday regarding coding vs. real-life, no matter how much I want to bang my beginner’s head against the wall to rearrange my neurons so that curly brackets vs. square brackets signify a world of meaning, coding is still so much simpler than real life.

I want to bury myself in methods, blocks, tags and hashes – a rather fancy way of saying I want to bury my head in the sand. In Ruby, you put a period (.) and a method next to an object and the object obeys!

myself.calm_down

I mean, there are so many lines to be written down before the above, but there you have it! It’s so simple! Is it any wonder that I don’t want to figure out tax forms in 2 countries; immigration details; how to draft a joint venture agreement; talk to my sister about how to pay for our condo, etc. etc.

By now, it’s probably clear that:

  • a) I am in immigration limbo/purgatory (I could write a whole book about my immigration odyssey);
  • b) my husband and I are entrepreneurial enough to build a company without a safety net; which
  • c) in turn makes finances a bit tight.

myself.count_blessings

I should, I really should. I’m okay, it’s all copacetic.

3 Responses to “{} vs. []”

  1. Rivenrod March 27, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Interesting. Don’t you think that in so many ways we, as human beings, have somehow lost the ability to notice natural codes. For example, just the other evening I was soundly slapped by my lovely wife for thinking she meant one thing when clearly she meant something completely different. C’est la vie . . .

    • sussurus March 28, 2011 at 12:04 am #

      That may be true. More and more, people seem so disconnected from emotional, non-verbal cues. Emails, comments and in-your-face updates seem unequivocal and thus, safe to translate.

  2. Tita April 12, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    I still found sense of humor on your words sussurus…Am I wrong here?
    Limbo/purgatory: perfect definition, felt the same once in my life as well.

Leave a Reply

